So I Networked, Now What?

Last night I attended a super fun networking event at the Village Pourhouse. Meet the Neighbors was a chance for young publishing professionals to meet one another and oftentimes, exchange our very first business cards.

I had that Ugly Betty episode in my head the whole time. You know, the one where she goes to a similar networking event and ends up making a similarly ugly friend in a sea full of model-like magazine professionals and then gives the ugly girl Mode‘s next cover story? Eep! Anyway, without giving away any of my house’s secrets, I was determined to make some publishing friends.

My goal was to give out 10 business cards. I thought that was a good solid number. I failed. But I still managed to hand out 5 business cards and collect 3, so I thought I was a (minor) success.

Flash forward to today. It was really great that I put myself out there, talked to people I didn’t know, and attempted to make connections, but what now? What are those connections worth if I don’t follow up on them?

Accio Google!

I took tips from the following sites to help in drafting e-mails to the three ladies that I collected cards from:
10 Things to Do Immediately After a Networking Event
Big Tips for Effective E-mail Follow-Up
7 Steps to Follow Up Success

Early this morning I wrote each of my connections a similar e-mail telling them how great it was to meet each of them. I told them I’d like to keep in contact, and if they were free for lunch or coffee, I would really like to hear more about their respective areas of business. Then I suggested we connect on Facebook or LinkedIn.

So far, I’ve heard back from one of them and we’ll hopefully be having lunch within the next couple of weeks.

This entry was posted in events, publishing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

