Darkly Dreaming Dexter – Jeff Lindsay

Rating: 3 stars
Shelf: Now Reading

Good but not great? I love the show, so obviously Jeff Lindsay created really great characters. And I’m glad. There were parts about the book that I liked better than the show. Deb is way less annoying. And less boy crazy. I was actually able to take her seriously in the book. And Doakes – I loved that Dexter sees the Dark Passenger in him as well. That they have a moment similar to the one between Dexter and the Nurse. LOVED IT!

But – it was a little boring. Not always, as I finished pretty fast. Enough was changed from the book to the show to make the book original and interesting. Still, I found myself skimming whole groups of pages, something I don’t do unless I find the text unnecessary.

Still, it’s a good read for any fan of the lovable serial killer.

This entry was posted in 2010, reading, reviews. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Darkly Dreaming Dexter – Jeff Lindsay

  1. A. Sparks says:

    If you are interested in an advance reading copy of DEXTER IS DELICIOUS, Jeff Lindsay's latest out September 7th, please send your contact information to acsparks at randomhouse.com.

  2. Matthew says:

    agree with virtually everything. I like Doakes in the show better. That might be because he is so over top in the show it's amusing to watch. Thoughts on La Guerta???

  3. HH says:

    We'll have to discuss LaGuerta elsewhere. I liked her better in the book, as well. And I REALLY liked her storyline. But I don't want to give too much away, since it is VASTLY different than the show.

  4. HH says:

    Also – I should have said – enough was changed to LEAVE the book original and interesting. Not make it. The book made the show. Duh.

  5. Jill says:

    The book is definitely a different style. I like them. The third in the series was the worst for me. But I did like Dexter by Design and I will be reading the fifth when it is released. Also, I thought you would like to check out this link: http://www.fictfact.com/ It's a site that helps you keep track of your series and read them in order.

Leave a Reply

